Two Southern Sisters: A Conversation. Sort of.

09/24/2010 at 10:53 AM 6 comments

When I recently visited my grandmother in central Virginia, Nana’s sister, Lillian, dropped by to deliver some sad news. The ensuing exchange—which I was able to record in the margins of a nearby 2008 Reader’s Digest—was anything but sad. And so, dear readers, we now present . . .

A conversation of two southern sisters

As transcribed by Angela Dove

The curtain rises on a sturdy round table, a mason jar of cut dahlias in the middle. Two silver-haired southern ladies in polyester pants, short sleeved shirts and orthopedic shoes sit across from one another. The sisters appear practically identical.

Lillian:    Well, I reckon you heard about Hattie Bell Crawford passing away.

Nana:    Who?

Lillian:    (Louder) Hattie Bell Crawford! You remember Hattie Bell.

Nana:    You mean Hattie Mae Crawford?

Lillian:    Bell.

Nana:    Hattie Mae Bell Crawford.

Lillian:    No! Just Hattie Bell Crawford! You know, John and Leroy’s sister? Used to be Hattie Bell.

Nana:    I know her maiden name was Bell. Wasn’t she a ‘Hattie Mae’?

Lillian:    No. She was just Hattie Bell. Then she married Asa Crawford.

Nana:    (Shaking her head) I don’t think I knew her. And I don’t remember any John and Leroy Bell.

Lillian:    Yes you do! Their daddy owned that corner store, had a jukebox in it.

Nana:    (Perking up) Well now, I remember that jukebox! We used to go dancing there after we got out of work from the mill.

Lillian:    (Puckering her lips like someone slipped her unsweetened iced tea) I didn’t do no dancing. That was you.

Nana:    Lord yes, I did! Had my first dance right there in that store. You remember that jukebox used to sit right next to the shelf of canning goods? It’s a wonder we didn’t knock those jars off the shelf when we got to twirling around and cutting up.

Lillian:    That was you doing all that.

Nana:    (Ignoring her sister and looking off into the past, a big smile on her face.) Those were some times. Wish I could remember the name of that store.

Lillian:    (Growing impatient) The name of it was Bell’s. John and Leroy and Hattie’s father owned that store.

Nana:    (Returning to the conversation) Who?

Lillian:    (Huffing out air) John and Leroy and Hattie! Their daddy was Mr. Bell, owned Bell’s Market that had the jukebox!

Nana:    (Smiling into the distance again, then nodding) Oh, yes. I reckon I danced with Leroy.

Lillian:    I reckon you danced with both of them boys. Plus lots of others.

Nana:    Well, don’t say it like that! It was innocent. Just teenagers being teenagers. I wasn’t going with any of them.

Lillian:    I didn’t say if you were or if you weren’t. I’m just saying you danced with practically every one of them boys.

Nana:    Well of course I did. I had to, didn’t I? (Cutting a mischievous smile toward her sister) Bunch of them boys wanted to dance with you, but you wouldn’t hardly ever do it, except maybe once or twice. I couldn’t just let them stand there, looking all sad.

Lillian smiles to herself but remains silent.

Nana:    So you keep up with their sister, Hattie?

Lillian:    Not particularly. I haven’t seen her in a long while.

Nana:    Who’d she marry?

Lillian:    I declare, you need to find those hearing aids! I already told you. She married Asa Crawford, used to work up at the college.

Nana:    What did he teach?

Lillian:    I don’t know if he was a teacher, or he just worked there, or what. That’s beside the point.

Nana:    Alright. So what’s the point?

Lillian:    Hattie Bell Crawford!

Nana:    What about her?

Lillian:    (losing all patience) She died!!

There is a long pause.

Nana:    I don’t think I knew her.

The curtain falls.

Angela Dove is an award-winning columnist and author of the true crime memoir, No Room for Doubt: A True Story of the Reverberations of Murder (Penguin 2009). She welcomes feedback at www.AngelaDove.com

Entry filed under: elderly, humor, Southern culture. Tags: , , , .

Patriotic pollster offers reprehensible choices Overabundant Joy: A Travelogue of Torture

6 Comments

  • 1. kathryn Magendie  |  09/28/2010 at 2:54 PM

    LAUGHING! ….. lawd be

  • 2. Coming East  |  09/28/2010 at 3:33 PM

    Loved it! Reminds me of stories I heard Jill McCorkle tell at this past weekend’s writers’ conference in Virginia.

  • 3. write4chocolate  |  09/28/2010 at 5:46 PM

    It’s such a joy to eavesdrop on the patter of comfortably worn relationships.

  • 4. suzicate  |  09/28/2010 at 9:39 PM

    Being from Central Virginia I feel like I’ve sit in on a few of those conversations. And yes, It does sound like some of the tales Jill McCorkle told at the conference this past weekend. Enjoyed this post.

  • 5. Chi  |  09/29/2010 at 2:51 AM

    So funny!!! Keep it up!!! 🙂

  • 6. Cyndy LoMonaco  |  09/30/2010 at 4:46 PM

    This is hilarious, loved it! Sounds just like them.


Angela Dove

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 837 other followers

Networked Blogs

if(typeof(networkedblogs)=="undefined"){networkedblogs = {};networkedblogs.blogId=953667;networkedblogs.shortName="will-write-for-chocolate";}

